Wednesday, June 27, 2018

The 7 Ages Of Appetite: Understand These Phases To Eat Better And Prevent Obesity

 Most people think that the desire to eat is driven by hunger. But appetite is not as simple as originally thought. Learning how it works and the seven phases it goes through over the years will help you make better decisions about what you eat and in the process, avoid diet-related problems such as obesity.

First decade

The body goes through many changes during the first decade. This period is significant because it plays a huge role in shaping a person’s eating habits. Kids at this age can be picky, but through careful, repeated exposure to different flavors, parents can get them accustomed to unfamiliar yet crucial food groups.
During this time, different stimuli and experiences can lead kids into being more likely to overeat as adults. Being forced to clear the plate may lead them to lose the ability to follow their appetite and stop eating when they need to. Similarly, the prevalence of food-related advertising can increase their food consumption and lead to obesity.

Second decade

At this point, many of the decisions made — whether it’s about food or otherwise — are influenced affected by hormones. Unfortunately, the preferences developed during this period are likely to continue into adulthood. Young women going through adolescence experience many changes that can affect their body’s ability to obtain proper nutrition. The possibility of pregnancy, a development common among many teenagers today, is yet another issue as it will lead a young girl’s developing body to compete with the fetus over nutrients. (MORE)

Source: Natural News

No comments: